Harvest in Full Swing

Here we go again! I know I publish a photo of our veggie harvest every year, but it always catches me by surprise. I thought I’d do a quick check for ripe tomatoes or squash before I came in from the morning greet and feed at the barn. Next thing I knew, I’d had to go back for a bigger tray and then a whole bushel basket because there were way more ripe items than I’d anticipated. By the time I was done, I was dripping wet and my sweaty glasses were sliding off my face into the tomato plants.

I guess it’s time to get down to business and start canning and drying those tomatoes. We have lots of onions too, but rather than dry them out to store for the winter I’m just going to be using them as needed in the kitchen. My huge efforts at hanging them to dry in the barn a couple years ago yielded a bunch of soft rotting onions in the basement by mid-winter. Very disappointing.

I stopped long enough to snap a shot of one of the many butterflies who have taken up residence in our pollinator-friendly fields. It’s a little hard to spot her, but I blew it up and did an ID with the help of Google. I think it is some variety of the Tiger Swallowtail.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harvest in Full Swing

  1. jono51 says:

    Nothing like home grown.

  2. sbaskitchen says:

    Enjoy canning and drying – I have been enjoying using what we did during our Aussie summer, it is so rewarding.

Leave a Reply

