Goodbye to Buster

0821141428bThere has been altogether too much attempted sex going on in the coop.  Cooper has been having to keep a constant eye on the whereabouts of his challenger, Buster, because at every opportunity Buster hops on top of the hens and they squawk out in alarm.  Cooper runs over and shoos him off, but it is only a matter of time before it gets more violent.

I went out to Craig’s List and discovered plenty of similar situations where people ended up with one too many roosters among their chicks.  I posted my own ad, but fortunately for us a friend with chickens lost their rooster and was willing to take Buster into their flock.  Now, it is up to him to keep himself safe from predators because he won’t be living in our iron-clad chicken fortress.  At least I don’t have to worry that he’ll end up stewed instead of a pampered pet.

I just re-read a great book by Brian McGrory called, “Buddy: How a Rooster Made Me a Family Man”.  When I read it the first time it made me cry, as books about pets always do.  I mean, really, they always die.  Still, I did  not have real experience with chickens when I read it the first time so the descriptions of the rooster’s movements and personality were amusing but not familiar yet.  Now, I saw Cooper and Buster in my mind and laughed my head off.

So, goodbye, Buster.  May you find your new home to be the happy kingdom you have always wished for.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

