Staying Inside

Whoa! We’ve got quite the blizzard going on here today. I don’t think there is much new snow, but the gusting winds are forming deep drifts and white-outs.  I’d planned to go see my mother at the nursing home to bring her a valentine, and to take my husband out for a nice dinner but it isn’t looking good.  The wind chill is well below zero.

0214151222c0214151222f0214151227It’s hard to capture snowy winds on film, but see if you can get the feeling.  I’m pleased with the tightness of our house because even though I can feel the walls shaking as the wind batters the windows, there is no draft and the geothermal pump calmly circulates warm air without a blip. Only my electric bill notices any difference.

I am hoping that it all dies down and the roads are plowed by Sunday morning because we have a big church service planned and I have to be there to play my part.  We have a long drive over country roads and I don’t want anything to get in the way.

About bluestempond

Hobby farmer living at Bluestem Pond in Michigan.
This entry was posted in Farm, House and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying Inside

  1. smfarm says:

    Wow! I hope you have a fireplace you can relax beside and wait it out. It reminds of the blizzards we had in Iowa when I was a kid, sometimes we couldn’t see the barn from the house. We had to go out in it to milk the cows, though!

    • bluestempond says:

      Yes, I had to go care for the chickens, so I put on tall boots and trudged out to the barn. It was so cold, my face burned where my glasses were resting on it. I changed the timer on their heat lamp to run it all day for a while till it warms up later this week.

Leave a Reply

